Its May 2024. Quick update

Hi y’all! SO MUCH happening. This is the shortest update ever with a few of the upcoming things I want on your radar.

This summer I’ll be continuing to work with the brilliant Star Finch on her new play Shipping & Handling going up at Magic Theater in San Francisco – August 9th we open! woot! We’ve been working on this piece since pre-pandemic so you KNOW we are ready. The creative team is amazing and the shared Leadership Team at Crowded Fire continues to be artist forward with their production practices.

I’m dramaturging Leonard Madrid’s Prima’s Guide to Funerals at Creede Rep in Creed, CO in June. I love this play and after my work with him on Cebollas last year at DCPA – (for the workshop, not the premiere) I cant wait to dig in! Unfortunately I have some family ish come up and I cant do this. but GO SEE THE PLAY!!

I’ll be continuing the development of my new experimental work Bones, Cards, Crossroads in September 2024 with a new theater partner – yay!

image from KARA workshop post showing discussion in Nov 2023 in Berkeley at Shotgun Studios.

I’m in the first steps of establishing my new play lab and center for theater makers at UCSC. It begins with the IRIS LAB and planning an amazing 24-25 season of short term artist residency opportunities for non-traditional theater makers. IRIS LAB will have fellowships for global majority and equity minded poets, architect/ scenic designers, sound designers / composers and more who are interested in theater making, to submit to a short, fully funded experimental residency that explores a question or artistic inquiry. The other center project is focused on mentoring emerging black women/ femme playwrights. more on that soon toooooo -Its lit! I cant wait to share more.

Otherwise, life is LIFEING y’all. This is the ‘what I’m doing’ update, not the ‘how I’m doing’ one. I’m .. good? I feel like things have been moving so quickly since I left Colorado and moved back to Cali. I feel like I have barely gotten settled. Its also weird being so close to Oakland, but just far enough away to make getting up there when I’m tired more of an effort.

Otherwise – just continuing writing on my play TOKEN, trying to synthesize all the creative information I got from the workshop of KARA back in November to move that script forward, teaching playwrighting and working hard to keep my artistic practice moving now that I’m back in the academy full time. Truthfully I just want time and space to write, direct, work in my garden and make extravagant meals and cocktails to seduce my Oakland & LA family to come visit. Summer dinner parties – lets go!

soon fam. xo

Leave a comment